Early Years Foundation Stage

The nursery follows the EYFS

This identifies 4 Principles of Practice

  1. A Unique Child

  2. Positive Relationships

  3. Enabling Environments

  4. Learning and Development

Each Principle is supported by 3 Prime Areas

  1. PSE (Personal, Social and Emotional)

  2. Physical 

  3. Communication and Language

Supported again by 4 Specific Areas

  1. Literacy

  2. Mathematics

  3. Understanding the World

  4. Expressive Arts and Design

None of these areas of learning and development can be delivered in isolation from the other.  They are equally important and depend on each other to support a rounded approach to child development.  All of the areas are delivered through planned, purposeful play, with a balance of adult-led and child-initiated activities.  

'What to expect, when?'

The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework sets out the learning and development stages for children as they grow from birth to five years.  For those working in the early years, whether in a nursery, pre-school, childminder or in a reception class in school - the EYFS outlines what they need to do to support your child.

Click here for a digital copy of the framework

Click here for 'what to expect, when' guidance